No Such Thing as Luck

Its fun to fantasize about lucky events that might happen to us to change our lives – winning the lottery is a great example.  We want to change something about our lives, or our careers, but it isn’t always clear where to begin, what to do? Sometimes the place to begin is identifying your passion.  What makes you come alive?  You’ve heard it before, ‘follow your heart and the money will follow’.  Unfortunately it isn’t quite a simple as that. 

Preparation meets opportunity = positive action

Even if you don’t know exactly what you want to do, begin preparing for something.  Take a class and study hard, make some calls, attend a networking event.  Whatever you choose to do, give it your best effort.  People notice excellence.  The universal law of attraction says you receive what you give.  Make sure everything you do is done with integrity.  Start with the simple things like appreciating you present situation or job and giving it all you’ve got.  You truly never know what will happen next.

As a young Safeway executive, I had a great job but saw absolutely no room for advancement in the company. All the other people above me were about my same age and I was so sure they would be there forever. Being an impatient youth, I quit.  Sure enough 3 months later several of these people left the company and I would have been next in line for a big promotion.  Had I stayed at this company I would be able to retire right now a fairly rich woman with all the stock options I would have accumulated in the booming 80s and 90s. The opportunity was there, I just didn’t see it.  I was also not prepared.   I was not willing to do my best  knowing that excellence pays off .

It turned out alright after all…  I have a great job  and a wonderful, loving family.  I know now, not to make assumptions about what I think will happen. I feel very fortunate that I followed my passion early by studying horticulture.  I’ve been able to craft a very succesful and rewarding career over the years doing it.  Teaching has been the ‘icing on the cake’ of rewarding job experiences.  I continue to strive for excellence, continue to prepare myself to be ready for the next opportunity and keep my mind open to possibilities. I try not force things to happen.  It seems that if an opportunity is supposed to happen, it will have a certain flow.  Things will fall in to place without force and extreme measures.  Have you ever had a situation where you didn’t get what you wanted only to later say ‘Thank God’?  I can think of a lot of them.  When we bought this house on 2 acres I actually wanted to buy a farm!  I wanted lots of land with animals and acres of garden space and the potential to start a farm stand or garden center.  We looked for months but never found the right place – Thank God it didn’t happen!  I can barely manage my 2 acres and little dog!  

Be careful what you pray for, you just might get it!   So often I realize how small and limited my view is.  I don’t know all the possibilities. I really don’t know what is best.  What I do know is that there is a divine power active in my life that guides me to my highest good. Most of the time I just need to get out of the way and let it happen.  Prepare for opportunity with excellence and live in a world of amazing possibilities!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

